Why I can’t count calories


I have been tracking my food for several months and recently decided to stop: it wasn’t working. All I was doing was trying to restrict myself into a predetermined number that made me feel guilty every day. This number, by the way, was 1200-1300 calories a day. It is not fun ‘trying’ to stick to that.

Sure, I need discipline. Absolute, positive, full-on discipline. But I don’t want to live my life restrictively. I want to be healthy, I want to feel full (of nutrients), I want to feel light (being hungry sometimes is OK!), I want to feel strong (exercise is good!).

Instead I’ve just decided to move around lots more. LOTS more. Ideally I’d like to be exercising for up to 2 hours a day and have it feel like work (sometimes), but really GOOD work, or sometimes play. Obviously rest days will happen. But the key is to get INTERESTED enough in moving around for around 2 hours / day to want to make it happen naturally.

Thanks to Stace, Jemal, and all my bike friends for helping me to just get interested in making this a long term, social, and most importantly, FUN part of my life.

Leave a comment