The Land of the Lost and Found


IMG_1276 edit

Today I woke up lost
then found myself
coffee-warmed
with eggs benedict
on a bright red vinyl seat
in kitchy 50’s diner.

I found myself
walking forever
ears unplugged
mind massaged open
by ocean waves.

I found my face
slapped awake
by the cold,
this soul entranced,
engrained in
every beach detail.

I found myself
stopped
frequently photographing
trees, ocean, shells
intermittently pulling over
on the walking path
reaching for notebook
to scrawl these words.

(I wondered what the joggers were thinking
but didn’t care)

I found myself
untied
in this place of
morning-midday sun.

Because dusk
that in-between place
day’s pre-death breath
brings uneasiness.

I’m better now
at finding a way
through the dark
without losing myself.

Better, now,
At finding myself
present there and
settling,
waiting to be
born again

by morning.

About smallgrl

Exercising the right to write.
This entry was posted in Art, Creating, mindfulness, Moments, nature, Poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

