Taking a Break From Work to Write


Image

But this break isn’t really about writing.

It’s about practicing other things that allow for greater compassion.

I regularly seek coffee-shop clarity.

So that my posts come out as more than vague thought-clumps.

So that community comes.

Really good writing cuts to the core instead of dancing around the edges; I’m afraid that I’ve been dancing around a little in my neuroses—a stifled jig at the edge of my bed, my head.

In some safe spot that rests on a foundation of stuck-sadness, muddy and thick.

Real writing requires transparency and movement.

I glimpse little pieces of this in the paths that condensation drips draw down the window panes, mini-rivulets carving clear streams through the fog.

Good writing carves new pathways between hearts.

About smallgrl

Exercising the right to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking a Break From Work to Write

  1. Kin says:

    Any writing that provokes thought or emotion is real, lovely lady. You’re very real, every step of your beautiful way. Love You.

Leave a Reply

