Failure does not exist (but unicorns do)


Today’s DP: Tell us about something you would attempt if you were guaranteed not to fail (and tell us why you haven’t tried it yet).

Failure?  What is this failure you speak of?  I don’t really believe in that word, and don’t use it.  I prefer to follow Yoda’s wisdom: “Do or do not, there is no try.”  I really do see everything as a journey, rather than classifying events and situations into categories such as ‘success’ or ‘failure’.

Two other words I’ve stopped using are ‘broke’ and ‘fat’.  As in, I’m not referring to myself as either anymore, ever, not even in my head.  I’d recommend this kind of exercise to anyone..but let’s move back over to the topic, which I’m going to reframe as:

“Talk about a batshit crazy/seemingly impossible idea that you have that if you pursued it would completely change your life.”

Recently I dressed up in this sassy unicorn costume for a party.  I loved it.  I channeled this – well, really social and outgoing and fun and kind of magical person (which I  guess I am, except that I identify as an introvert by nature so it is really super empowering when I feel that way).

Wow, I sound really full of myself right now…OK so, without ego, moving on.

So my completely awesome / batshit crazy idea is to be a unicorn for a year and blog about it.  I’m not joking: I’d get some press, get some followers, and basically travel around the world writing about my uinicorny adventures.  I wouldn’t necessarily be ‘in costume’ all of the time, although being in costume some of the time would be part of the deal.  unicorns

Part of what I’d be doing is getting my hands dirty in different projects, volunteering in community development projects and the like.  Other parts would be getting involved in intentional communities/community initiatives, creative projects, etc.  The hope would be that I could learn enough to take on more of a leadership role in this capacity later in life.

Plus, I would also be focused on spreading random (magical) acts of kindness.  You know…the usual.

Sounds ridiculous right?  But, the point really would be to be footloose and spreading awesomeness, exploring the world, helping people, having fun.  In other words, really living…which is probably the least crazy thing that one can do for oneself and the world.

The whole idea is a little (OK, a lot) grandiose, but I’m taking baby unicorn steps… (hell yeah!)

About smallgrl

Exercising the right to write.
This entry was posted in Art, Community, Culture, Daily prompt, Dreaming, Love, Travel, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Failure does not exist (but unicorns do)

  1. Can I come with you? There’s something endlessly appealing about cavorting around the world dressed as a unicorn, channeling my hidden extrovert!

  2. ebleue says:

    Brilliant idea! I suggest you name the blog/movement: “The Unicorn Parade”…;-)

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Too Big To Fail – Poem / Poetry – “To Believe is to Succeed” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

